Frank Cagnina crowned National Champion in wrestling

(Cleveland, Ohio) — UCM wrestling finished with two All-Americans and one national champion at the NCAA-II Championships.

No. 1 Frank Cagnina (149) won UCM’s first national championship since Plamen Pasklev in 2005-2006, and is only the sixth Mule to capture a national title.

Cagnina beat Terrel Wilbourn in overtime to advance to the finals, where he faced Edwin Cooper (Upper Iowa) in the championship match. Trailing 2-1, Cagnina had a reversal and three-point near fall in the third period, before riding out Cooper to win the national title by 6-2 decision.

He finished the season at 40-2, winning 29 straight matches. He has the third best single-season win percentage at .952. He also holds the record for most major decision wins in a single season, adding one more at the national meet to bring his total to 13.

Ty Loethen (165) fell in two straight matches to place eighth in the tournament, losing by decision in both matches. He was beat by No. 4 Nick Haferkamp (McKendree) before losing his final match of the season to Gabe Fogarty (St. Cloud State). Loethen finished the season at 23-10, with a 43-19 career record at UCM.

Posted by on March 16, 2014. Filed under UCM Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *